Where can I find the basic recording requirements?
A list of general recording requirements can be found on the Recording Info and Requirements Page.
Will the Recorder's Office help me prepare my document?
The Recorder's office is prohibited by law from providing you with legal advice. We can only tell you the recording requirements for any particular document. We recommend you contact a legal advisor to assist you in preparing your document.
What happens to my document after it is recorded?
The Recorder's office is required to make a permanent record of all documents. Documents are scanned and indexed. Once these steps have been completed, the images and index are made availble in our office for viewing. We are prohibited from displaying images online. You can view our index online using the Recorded Document Search. Copies are also stored on microfilm for archival purposes. The original documents are returned to the requestor in approximately 2 weeks.
What is documentary transfer tax?
California Revenue and Taxation Code 11911 allows each county to impose a documentary transfer tax on realty transferred when the consideration or value of the property is greater than $100.00. Transfer tax is calculated at the rate of $0.55 per $500.00 of property value. It is due at the time of recording unless a valid exemption under the Revenue and Taxation Code is provided.
How do I find out what has been recorded on a particular property?
Our staff is unable to conduct record searches; however, our research area is open to the public from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (legal holidays excluded). Our grantor/grantee index is an index by name. We also provide a free online Recorded Document Search.
How do I find out if a lien has been filed against my property?
You will need to search our records under your name to find out if a lien has been placed against you or if a recorded lien has been released. The Recorder's Office cannot release or remove any liens placed against you. To have a lien released, you will need to contact the party who recorded the lien.
MARRIAGE LICENSES & CEREMONIES
Do I need a blood test?
No, California does not require a blood test.
Do I have to be a California resident to marry in California?
No, you do not need to be a California resident to marry.
Is there a waiting period between the time the license is issued and when I can get married?
No, you can be married any time within 90 days after obtaining a license.
Does Yuba County permit private citizens to be deputized to perform civil marriage ceremonies?
Not at this time.
FICTITIOUS BUSINESS NAME STATEMENTS
When does a Fictitious Business Name Statement expire?
A Fictitious Business Name Statement expires 5 years from the date it was filed with the County Clerk or when there is any change in the facts of the filing other than a change in the residence address of a registered owner.
Where can I find the California laws governing Fictitious Business Name Statements?